“Gluten Free” Labeling – Just Stop It Already – Kate’s Real Food

The photo above was taken at a coffee shop in Estes Park on a family vacation.  Although Estes Park itself doesn’t have a lot of gluten free options, Boulder and Denver… do.  I would venture a guess that Boulder, is one of the most gluten free friendly spots in the whole United States.  We split time between all three locations.  Look for an upcoming trip report to hear just how great Bolder and Denver are for us gluten free peoples.

Back to the subject this post.  Kate’s Real Food Tiki Bar.  These appear to be labeled gluten free, but they aren’t really.  They are labeled “gluten free ingredients”.  The label proceeds to tell you how they are processed on shared equipment.

From Kate’s Real Food’s website – “The Tiki Bar is gluten-free, peanut-free, soy-free and dairy-free, but made in a facility that also contains gluten, peanut, soy and dairy products”

Really??  Just please stop it.  Either do it or don’t do it.  This product is deceptive and dangerous.  If you can’t make a gluten free (or peanut free or soy free or dairy free) product that’s really free of those things, please just hop off the bandwagon and stop.