Is it safe to drink gluten-removed beers?


Most “gluten-removed” beers are made using gluten containing ingredients like… barley.  During fermentation an enzyme is used that breaks down gluten.  The real issue is whether or not the things that are left (peptides) cause a negative reaction in those who (like me) have Celiac Disease.  Personally… I would love to see some of the bigger breweries that produce these beers, like Omission, band together to commission additional scientific research in this area, including a double blind study on the actual effects of drinking gluten removed beers on those suffer from Celiac Disease.

Gluten Free Watchdog (I’m a subscriber!)… has an excellent paper detailing this issue.  See: Is Barley-Based “Gluten-Removed” Beer Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

Connect with Us!  FacebookTwitter | Pinterest | Google+RSS Feed | Email NewsletterSubmit a Tip

Recent Great Deals [more]: